Public Lecture :【Partners of Authoritarians: the politics of community NGOs in China】

Public Lecture :【Partners of Authoritarians: the politics of community NGOs in China】
Organized by Centre For Social Change
Date: 10/11/2016 (Thursday)
Time: 7:30-9:30p.m.
Venue: AC2 Room 1406, City University of Hong Kong
Speaker:
Mr. Samson Yuen (Senior Lecturer of School of Arts and Social Sciences, the Open University of Hong Kong; PhD candidate in Politics and International Relations, University of Oxford)
Moderator:
Dr. Siu Yu Kwan, Kaxton (Assistant Professor 
of Department of Applied Social Science, Hong Kong Polytechnic University)

Description:

As an integral part of civil society, non-governmental organizations (NGO) are often regarded as the indispensable element in the democratization process, and hence pose certain potential threats to the authoritarian government. Yet, the Chinese government holds a rather ambiguous attitude towards these NGOs – on the one hand, NGOs are permitted to exist for alleviating side effects of the economic development; on the other hand, a close surveillance is maintained over the NGOs, and the rights advocacy organizations among them are suppressed from time to time.
In recent years, a new phenomenon is gradually emerging within the Chinese civil society: local governments seek cooperation with NGOs through purchasing services from the latter, providing the grassroots society with a wide range of social services, such as professional social worker service, rehabilitation treatment for drug addicts, elderly service, rural migrant worker service, etc.; cultivating a ‘civil society’ in the localities. While some believe the Government purchasing services from NGOs is conducive to the organizations’ survival as well as the prospering of civil society, others are in the opinion that the Government aims to replace the grassroots NGOs, in order to construct a pro-government, ‘harmonized’ civil society in the long run.
How does the new model of government purchasing service from NGOs change the present-day civil society and its future development? Would these service-providing NGOs become collaborators of the ruling power? How should the NGOs situate themselves in the current context? The public lecture attempts to shed light on the above questions.
Details: https://www.facebook.com/events/203149310112505/

講座 【被和諧的公民社會?——政府購買服務下的中國NGO】

photo97067352267532606

社會發展中心 主辦

【被和諧的公民社會?——政府購買服務下的中國NGO】

日期:2016年11月10日(星期四)

時間:七時半到九時半
地點:香港城市大學AC2 1406室
講者:袁瑋熙先生(香港公開大學人文社會科學院高級講師、牛津大學政治及國際關係博士候選人)
主持:蕭裕均博士 (香港理工大學應用社會科學系助理教授)

簡介:

作為公民社會的重要部分,NGO(非政府組織)一向被認為是民主進程不可或缺的元素,因此對於威權政府而言,NGO的存在具有不少潛在威脅。然而,中國政府對NGO卻一直採取了較為曖昧的態度,一方面給予它們一定的生存空間以舒緩經濟發展的陣痛,另一方面對它們保持嚴密的掌控,並不時打壓專注於權利倡議的組織。
近年來,中國的公民社會出現了一波新的現象:各地的地方政府積極地以政府購買服務尋求與NGO合作,在基層社會提供一系列的社會服務,如專業社工、戒毒、老人、農民工服務等等,培育地方性的「公民社會」。有人認為,政府購買服務為NGO締造了更大的生存空間,有助公民社會茁壯成長。但也有人認為,此舉無非為了取代草根NGO的角色,目的是要構建一個親政府、被和諧的公民社會。
此講座將嘗試解答以下的問題:究竟政府購買服務如何改變公民社會的肌理?這些社會服務型NGO會否成為權力「協作者」?NGO在這種新的生存空間將如何自處?
詳程: https://www.facebook.com/events/203149310112505/